Series 9

Truman Capote: Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime, Edgar Award for Best Motion Picture, Emmy Award

Douglas Dunn: Costa Book of the Year, Somerset Maugham Award

Margaret Laurence: Governor General’s Literary Award for English-Language Fiction

Penelope Lively: CILIP Carnegie Medal, Man Booker Prize

Alan Paton: Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for Fiction

Peter Taylor: Academy Award for Best Film Editing, Ambassador Book Award for Fiction, American Academy of Arts and Letters Gold Medal for the Short Story, PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story, Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Introduction to Great Books, First Series

Sigmund Freud: Goethe Prize

Flannery O’Connor: National Book Award

Introduction to Great Books, Second Series

Isaiah Berlin: Erasmus Prize, Jerusalem Prize for the Freedom of the Individual in Society

Isak Dinesen: Danish Holberg Medal, Ingenio et Arti Medal

William Faulkner: Nobel Prize in Literature, Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, National Book Award for Fiction, American Academy of Arts and Letters Gold Medal for Fiction

Introduction to Great Books, Third Series

Delmore Schwartz: Bollingen Prize for Poetry

The Nature of Life, new edition

Claude Bernard: Copley Medal

Rachel Carson: National Book Award for Nonfiction, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Richard Dawkins: Royal Society of London Michael Faraday Prize, International Cosmos Prize, Kistler Prize, Nierenberg Prize, Shakespeare Prize, Lewis Thomas Prize, Silver Medal for Significant Contribution to the Field of Zoology

Jennifer Doudna: Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Gairdner Foundation International Award, Princess of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific Research, Japan Prize, Alan T. Waterman Award, Massry Prize, Fellow of the Royal Society, Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award

Loren Eiseley: Phi Beta Kappa Award in Science

Stephen J. Gould: Royal Society Prizes for Science Books, Darwin-Wallace Medal, Charles Schuchert Award, Phi Beta Kappa Award in Science, Paleontology Society Medal, T.N. George Medal, Gold Medal for Service to Zoology, Sue Tyler Friedman Medal, Distinguished Scientist Award, National Book Critics Circle Award for General Nonfiction, Anthropology in Media Award

Konrad Lorenz: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Kalinga Prize, Austrian Decoration for Science and Art, Prix modial Cino Del Duca

Lynn Margulis: Darwin-Wallace Award, National Medal of Science for Biological Sciences, William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement

Gary Paul Nabhan: John Burroughs Medal, Lannan Literary Award for Nonfiction

Robert M. Sapolsky: Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Washington Post Best Book of 2017, Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing About Science

Michael Skinner: Smithsonian American Ingenuity Award, Natural Science

James D. Watson: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, John J. Carty Award, Copley Medal, Lomonosov Gold Medal

Edward O. Wilson: Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction, Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement, National Medal of Science for Biological Sciences, Eminent Ecologist Award, Nierenberg Prize, Hubbard Medal, Phi Beta Kappa Award in Science, Lewis Thomas Prize, Heartland Prize for Fiction

Immigrant Voices

M. Evelina Galang: Association of Writers & Writing Programs Prize for the Novel, Global Filipino Literary Award, Gustavus Myers Outstanding Book Awards Advancing Human Rights