Book Groups & Councils

There are 12 independent Great Books Councils, made up of volunteers, that support Great Books groups in the United States and Canada. In addition, there are many Great Books groups in locations that aren’t covered by these councils. For more information on Great Books groups in your area, please contact us, or you can reach out directly to any of the individuals and organizations listed below.

CALIFORNIA

San Francisco Great Books Council
(serving Northern California)
Louise Morgan, President
louise-morgan@sbcglobal.net

San Diego Great Books Council
Frank and Sandy Spalding
sspaldin@att.net
858-755-8978

Ralph Purves
rpurves@cox.net
619-440-5625

Los Angeles
Alisa Beaton
alisab2016@icloud.com
310-452-7264

DELAWARE

Great Books Council of Delaware
Cyra Gross
cyra711@aol.com
302-475-3914

Ocie Bernstein
ocie.bernstein@comcast.net
302-633-4088

FLORIDA

Tampa Bay Great Books Council
Sara Cohen, President
saradacinteriors@aol.com
813-985-4515

Gainesville
Don Smith
smithdc2@bellsouth.net
352-376-0044

Miami
Peter Lamar
cplamar@yahoo.com
305-205-4425
(Prefers contact by e-mail)

Orlando
David Felesky
dfelesky@hotmail.com
407-859-1203

MAINE

New England Great Books Council
Roberta Tansman, President
203-621-4417

NEW YORK

Long Island Great Books Council
Grahme Fischer, President
ligb@verizon.net
631-361-3401

Westchester Great Books Council
Mary Ann Baiyor, President
westchestergreatbooks@gmail.com
914-631-4833

PENNSYLVANIA

Philadelphia Great Books Council
John Dalton, President
jd5258875@aol.com
610-608-7711

Helen McGrane, Coordinator
hmcgrane@yahoo.com

TEXAS

Houston Great Books Council
Eric Timmreck, President
emtimmreck@comcast.net
713-666-4849

WASHINGTON

Northwest Great Books Council
Steve Burdick
cadasb@gmail.com
253-850-3514

Great Books at Colby College Summer Institute

John Dalton
Great Books Summer Institute at Colby College
P.O. Box 8188
Radnor, PA 19087
phone 610-608-7711
agreatbook@aol.com

LONDON, ENGLAND

Mark Cwik
mark@markcwikstudio.com
+44 0757 211 8855

 

Find a Book Group

Search By Zip


 

Search By State